• Dennis McCaslin

Finalists named for 2017 Broyles award for top college assistant coach

A week from the ceremony, the Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation announces five finalists for 2017 Broyles Award, which honors college football’s top assistant coaches.

The five finalists are:

Auburn – Kevin Steele, Defensive Coordinator

Clemson – Tony Elliot, Co–Offensive Coordinator, Running Backs

Oklahoma – Bill Bedenbaugh, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line

UCF – Troy Walters, Offensive Coordinator

Wisconsin – Jim Leonhard, Defensive Coordinator

The announcecment of the 2017 Broyles Award winner will be held on Tuesday, December 5th at the Marriott Hotel in Little Rock.

Last year’s Broyles Award winner was Brent Venables, defensive coordinator for Clemson. Winners from the previous five seasons are not eligible for the 2017 Broyles Award. Visit the Broyles Award website for the full list of previous finalists and winners.

Proceeds from the 2017 Broyles Award support the mission of the Broyles Foundation; to provide education, support, and resources to Alzheimer’s caregivers. You can follow The Broyles Foundation on Facebook and Twitter.

Riceland Foods will serve as the presenting sponsor of the 2017 Broyles Award. Riceland is the world’s largest miller and marketer of rice with its products sold across the nation and to more than 75 foreign destinations.

The Broyles Award was created in 1996 recognizing Coach Frank Broyles’ legacy of selecting and developing great assistants during his almost two decades as head coach at Arkansas. You can follow the Broyles Award on Facebook and Twitter.

The National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 699 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit NCFAA.org to learn more about our story.